Home | Search Negril | Negril Map | Videos | Forum | Negril Calendar of Events | Where To Stay | Transportation | Restaurants | Things To Do

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: The reef/Poachers

User Info Menu

Angry The reef/Poachers

My wife an I have been vacationing in Negril for 18 yrs and really love it. We love the beach, Sun, the people of this beautiful island. We love to snorkel everywhere we travel and have been very disappointed the past couple of years as well as our trusty glass bottom boat friend whom we have known for over a decade. On a couple of trips to the reef we have actually chased poachers from the reef. Our boat guy is very upset,as are we, with the result.

On a daily basis the poachers are cruising around with their kayaks and spear guns and killing everything they could. Including turtles, lobster no matter the size and any fish in their path. They sell the fish to the hotels on the beach, the lobster to tourists, no matter the size. I happen to be talking with a long time native friend of mine when the poacher who has the white kayak, came in with a bucket of lobster. He asked if I wanted to buy them, and I LOVE my lobster. I said after taking one look at them. "you would be arrested if you were in the US". He replied "I would be arrested if I were caught here.

Interesting comment. No let's talk about the Marine patrol that seems to cruise by, maybe a hand full of times over the 9 days that we were there this February. Not one time did they ever stop to check out anyone, for anything. I have never seen them anywhere near the reef. They just cruise down the beach at a slow pace and then back. I guess to show their presence to the tourist. These poachers are actually afraid of being arrested. He told me that. All the marine patrol has to do is patrol the reef area and it's surrounding, Early in the morning, a couple times a week. Show a presence. It works.

I never did buy any lobster. I would never support a poacher.

User Info Menu