Home | Search Negril | Negril Map | Videos | Forum | Negril Calendar of Events | Where To Stay | Transportation | Restaurants | Things To Do

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A Jamaica history lesson

User Info Menu

A Jamaica history lesson

Does any one know of an individual who is knowledgeable about Jamaica History/Politics/culture of the island who is a good story teller and has a depth of knowledge about Jamaica who might be willing to do a 90 minute lecture/Q and A about Jamaica as described above. I have been coming to Jamaica for the past 5 years, my friends who I meet down there have been coming for over 10. And as much as I love hanging out on the beach, exploring the island as a tourist and drinking a beer with some goat curry, I am looking to put together something a little on the academic side for me and my friends. I could either host this casually at Idle A while where we stay. Or if possible it might be interesting to have it hosted in a local residents home which would make it more personal. I would also like to possibly hire a chef to make a nice traditional meal as part of this evening. Anyways, I am just trying to think out loud about doing something a little different for me and my family/friends that would make us more knowledgeable of a place (as tourist) we have come to love and find so endearing. There is so much to learn, the struggles of the Jamaican people, their myriad of successes, and the effect of the natural beauty of the island that shapes the philosophical outlook that is unique to your island nation. This would be in mid April. Thanks for taking the time to read. I was thinking for the 90 minute lecture we could pay about 30 U.S per person and negotiate the meal if that could happen also, I think we would have at least 5-8 (including some children) that would like to participate. anyways just thought i would ask here.

Best Regards,

Jerry
    Last edited by Caferacer59; 02-26-2019 at 08:59 AM.

User Info Menu