Home | Search Negril | Negril Map | Videos | Forum | Negril Calendar of Events | Where To Stay | Transportation | Restaurants | Things To Do

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Money exchange and tips

User Info Menu

Money exchange and tips

Sorry I am a newbie here so this might be a dumb question. Is it necessary to exchange money? I was thinking of spending a day of our vacation on 7 Mile Beach and was wondering if vendors/bars/resteraunts prefer Jamaican over American or vice versa. Is it better to tip in American currency as opposed to Jamaican?

User Info Menu

IMO, its better to exchange your money, my experience when dealing with vendors is that they give you their price in Jamaican, and that can lead to confusion and sometimes dishonesty when you ask them how much that is in $US.

but don't exchange all of your money at once, exchange as you go.

you can tip either way..$1= 86J$

User Info Menu

It's easier to keep plenty of Jamaican on you. We brought lots of US 1's and 5's with us for tipping as was suggest on here once before. Sometimes it can be hard to find small Jamaican bills and when you do have them they tend to disappear rather quickly.

Blue Cave Castle '12, '13 '14 '15 '16 Catcha Falling Star '13 Boardwalk Village '14 '15

User Info Menu

REMEMBER......if you are in a hurry to compute the exchange in your head.............just round up to 100 J to 1 US Dollar........
    you will only LOOSE .16 cents for every hundred you would have to spend 600 Jamaican to lose a buck.........Tip Money ?
    "One of the laundry gals pipes up ,,"LOOK AT DA BLOOD"
    "YES,THAT WOULD BE MINE" I said as my leg that at first gave no pain, started dishing it out in large bunches........"

want more read our blog? our first trip.........http://negril.com/forum/entry.php?58...-The-Beginning

User Info Menu

As has been said, having Ja dollars can help level the playing field. No guessing/doing math.