Home | Search Negril | Negril Map | Videos | Forum | Negril Calendar of Events | Where To Stay | Transportation | Restaurants | Things To Do

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips for traveling with a wedding dress

User Info Menu

Tips for traveling with a wedding dress

Hi everyone,

I'm traveling with a wedding dress and other formal attire and need advice. Has anyone done this before? I contacted Apple vacations but haven't gotten a response as to whether I can bring the wedding dress into the cabin and whether or not there is a place to hang it. I'm thinking about bringing an empty suitcase if I need to check it. Either way I will probably need to have the garments steamed when I arrive. I'm staying at a private villa so I won't be able to steam it there. Are there any resorts where I can have this done? I am a total newbie so sorry for this but I'm assuming Negril does not have a dry cleaner!

Thanks in advance!

User Info Menu

Re: Tips for traveling with a wedding dress

Yes! I did this back in October 2010

I carried my wedding dress in the garment bag that was provided by the boutique where I bought my dress. I carried it onto the plane (which was American Airlines) and they allowed me to hang it in the First Class coat closet during the flight (Just ask the flight attendant).
    Then when I got to Negril, the resort carried my dress to a dry cleaner up on the West End (past Out of Town Pastry) and had it steamed. It looked fabulous. However, I have no idea what the name of the dry cleaner was, I just remember it was up past out of town, take the left side of the fork. They did a fantastic job too.